Fitness Improvements

Two years ago, my cholesterol was a little on the high side. I decided to lose some weight and slowly, slowly, I did that and my cholesterol went down for two years in a row. I love it when you do the things you’re supposed to do – healthy diet and exercise – and it actually works and you have the blood work to prove it. Yay science.

So imagine my horror when this year, my cholesterol went back up. Whhyyyy?? I’m eating the same diet I’ve been eating and if anything, I’m exercising more days a week than I used to.

I blame COVID. Even though I’m exercising, that’s maybe 20-30 minutes a day. Literally, the rest of the day I’m sitting around, most often behind my computer. Many days, I do not venture outside other than to retrieve the newspaper.

And so within an hour of seeing my test results online, I had a plan of action and was on my way to Trader Joe’s to execute. Here’s what I decided to change.

Diet
It’s not enough to avoid bad foods – I wanted to add in good foods. I’m making a conscious effort to eat beans and legumes, salmon, avocado (such a hardship!), seeds, and berries. My new lunch salad is greens, smoked salmon, avocado, and pumpkin seeds with homemade vinaigrette. So good, and hits so many of the good foods.

Movement
When COVID hit and we started working from home, I immediately took my Fitbit off. What was the point? I’ve now put my Fitbit back on and make an effort to take a walk every day. My husband is a big taker of walks, so we walk together. I think (hope) that this will make a big difference.

Exercise
I’ve been doing well on exercise, but I’ve upped it a bit, trying to challenge myself a bit more and not to phone it in.

I won’t get blood work done for another year, so I’ll have to keep this up for a full year to see if it works. Can I do it? We shall see.

Leave a comment